Dr. Param Nair awarded 2016 Bastable-Potts Research Prize

Dr. Param Nair awarded 2016 Bastable-Potts Research Prize

The Asthma Society of Canada (ASC) has awarded its 2016 Bastable-Potts Research Prize to AllerGen Research Leader Dr. Parameswaran Nair. This year’s award, valued at $5,000, recognizes innovative research done by a Canadian researcher that adds to the body of knowledge regarding Severe Asthma.

L to R: Dr. Nair receives his award from Dr. Susan Waserman and Vanessa Foran (President and CEO, Asthma Society of Canada). Credit: © Paul Li, The Asthma Society of Canada

“Your innovative research investigating non-invasive measurements of airway inflammation in the treatment of severe asthma continues to make a difference in the lives of Canadian asthma patients,” observed the ASC in its award to Dr. Nair.

“We believe you and your work best represent the mandate of the Bastable-Potts Asthma Research Fund, as you continue to explore important research questions in the development and impact of asthma. Your work is helping all Canadians by providing them with a better breathing future.”

Dr. Nair is the Frederick E. Hargreave Teva Innovation Chair in Airway Diseases and Professor of Medicine in the Division of Respirology at McMaster University, a researcher at the Firestone Institute for Respiratory Health, and head of AllerGen’s Severe Asthma CIC (Clinical Investigator Collaborative).

The Bastable-Potts Asthma Research Fund was established in 2014, from a bequest from the estate of Gail Suzanne Potts, to advance research into the multiple factors that contribute to the development of asthma.

The two past recipients were also AllerGen researchers: Drs Michael Brauer (2014) and Malcolm Sears (2015). This year’s award was presented at a gala dinner on the evening of May 6, 2016, as part of the ASC’s Fighting for Breath conference.

Read the press release  | View a video of the award presentation | View a video of Dr. Nair’s speech at the ASC event